Saskatchewan.—All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 10 cities, 106 towns, 371 villages and 296 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern two-fifths of the province—the remainder of this portion is administered for local purposes by the province in unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern three-fifths is sparsely populated and without local government, though some municipal services are provided by the province through operation of the Northern Administrative Area. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The province has an Act applying to each type of municipality, and under these Acts the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the 10 cities, 87 towns, 157 villages, 36 municipal districts and 12 counties. The latter administer schools as well as municipal services.

British Columbia.—Less than one-half of 1 p.c. of the area of British Columbia is organized into municipalities. Additional small areas have sufficient population to require administration of local activities by the provincial government. There are 32 cities, three towns, 57 villages, and 31 districts; the latter are chiefly rural municipalities, except for those adjacent to the principal cities of Victoria and Vancouver which are largely urban in character. It should be emphasized, however, that the application of the name "city" is somewhat different from the commonly accepted meaning, in that several of them have populations of fewer than 1,000 and perhaps one-half or more would not normally be incorporated as cities in another province. Legislation of 1957 provided for the incorporation of towns; by the beginning of 1959 three villages had attained town status and three cities had reverted to village status. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Yukon and Northwest Territories.—There are two cities and one town in the Yukon Territory and two local administrative districts in the Northwest Territories, all of which provide some municipal services to their local areas. These are not shown in Table 35.

Item	Nfld.	P.E.I.	N.S.	N.B.	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Total
	OFFICIAL DESIGNATION <sup>1</sup>										
	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Local municipalities Metropolitan corporations Cities Toons Villages Rural <sup>a</sup> Quebec and Ontario counties	2 404 355 	24 1 7 16 	66 2 40 24 	423 6 20 1 15 	1,673 1 54 162 \$36 1,120 7512	938 1 30 158 154 5957 38	190 6 35 37 1128 	783 10 106 \$71 296°	302 10 87 157 4810	123 32 3 57 31 <sup>11</sup> 	4,218 2 153 658 1,164 2,241 113
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	77	24	66	42	1,748	976	190	783	302	123	4,331

## 35.--Official Designation and Statistical Classification of Municipalities, by Province, as at Jan. 1, 1960

For footnotes, see end of table, p. 94.